Image Upload

File size must be less than 500kb

File types (jpg, png, gif)

Photo: Australian Electoral Commission

Who Wins Indi & Farrer?

Who Wins Indi & Farrer?

Photo: Australian Electoral Commission

Federal Election Results

In a result that many polls did not predict, the Liberal National Party coalition has retained government at the 2019 Federal Election.

Locally, the biggest question was whether the seat of Indi would remain independent with the resignation of Cathy McGowan.

It was a tight race with Liberal Steve Martin narrowly ahead on the primary vote, however on a two-party preferred basis the Cathy McGowan-endorsed Independent, Helen Haines, has claimed victory in the seat.

The seat of Indi has now made election history, with no other seat since Federation having been won by Independent candidates back to back.

Article continues below

In a speech given to supporters in Wangaratta the midwife and health researcher admitted to feeling humbled and overwhelmed by the victory: “We have marched into Rome! I’m absolutely overwhelmed… overwhelmed to be standing in front of you.”

In Farrer, Albury Mayor Kevin Mack was hoping to make the seat Independent, displacing long-serving Liberal Sussan Ley, who has held the seat since 2001.

Despite the challenge, which even betting websites had at tight odds, Ley retains Farrer comfortably with over 60% of the vote, two-party preferred.

Addressing her supporters in Albury, Ms Ley said she felt “incredibly grateful, incredibly proud and incredibly happy” to have retained the seat.

The Latest